Kooyong Classic bounces back for 2020 and beyond

Posted on November 4, 2019

2020 will see the iconic Kooyong Classic return with new commercial partners and a new-look stadium.

A star-studded list of players set to headline the event has just been announced, with former world number ones Caroline Wozniacki and Maria Sharapova set to take centre court, with more players to be announced in the coming weeks.

In a three-year title sponsorship deal with Australia’s leading emerging renewable energy company, the event will be known as the AgBioEn Kooyong Classic.
A new official international broadcast and marketing partner has been announced, Mediapro Asia has signed on for the next three years in a deal that will see the Singapore-based business promote and market broadcast rights and event sponsorship both domestically and internationally.

Tournament Director Peter Johnston said the new partners set up the event for a successful return in 2020 and beyond.

“With Australia’s revamped summer tennis schedule, the AgBioEn Kooyong Classic is perfectly positioned to provide the all-important final warm-up for players competing at the Australian Open the following week.”

“Kooyong fans have seen their fair share of male number one players, now it is time for them to welcome two former female number ones who are both massive stars of the game.”

“AgBioEn and Mediapro Asia have recognised that the new-look format heralds a new future for the event, and we’re absolutely delighted to welcome them.” Johnston said.

AgBioEn Director Charles Hunting, said the new naming-rights partnership was a perfect fit.

“The Kooyong Classic holds a special place in Australia’s history, embodying the courage of the Australian sporting spirit.”

“As AgBioEn grows its role in this country’s greener and renewable future, we believe this partnership will hold success for both parties, bringing together heritage and our collective hope for the future,” Hunting said.

Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club President Peter Carew said: “Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club is the spiritual home of tennis in Australia and it was always important to the club to retain an event featuring the world’s best male and female players competing in the redeveloped stadium. We welcome AgBioEn and Mediapro Asia to the event, who will help create the foundation for us to achieve that.”

Mediapro Asia Managing Director Lars Heidenreich said: “We first became involved last year to increase the broadcast exposure of the event internationally. From there, we saw the potential growth of the event and we are delighted to expand our role on a long-term basis.”

SBS is the exclusive free-to-air home of the 2020 Kooyong Classic.

You can catch the 2020 Kooyong Classic LIVE, FREE and in HD on SBS broadcast nationally from 1pm (AEDT) daily from Tuesday January 14 – Thursday January 16.

SBS Director of Sport Ken Shipp said: “SBS has a proud heritage in bringing the best of international and national sport that brings together players and fans from many diverse cultures. Australians love the drama and excitement of tennis – the Kooyong Classic is one of the iconic events on the sports calendar, and this partnership sees the tournament returning live and free to all Australians.”

The 2020 AgBioEn Kooyong Classic will be the first held at the new-look Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club, which will give audiences an unprecedented boutique experience. The club has commenced an $18million redevelopment which includes returning the stadium to its 1930s form ahead of major clubhouse and site improvements in 2020. A reduced capacity crowd of more than 5,000 fans are expected on site each day to experience the unique event atmosphere.

World class players have appeared over the past two years, including 19-time Grand Slam champion Rafael Nadal (ESP), 16-time Grand Slam champion and world No.1 Novak Djokovic (SRB), 2014 US Open champion Marin Cilic (CRO), world No.5 Dominic Thiem (AUT) and local headliner Nick Kyrgios (ACT), as well as 2019 US Open semi-finalist and world No.10 Belinda Bencic (SUI), 2019 French Open semi-finalist and rising star Amanda Anisimova (USA), 2014 Wimbledon finalist Eugenie Bouchard (CAN) and Australian Ajla Tomljanovic (Qld).

The 2020 AgBioEn Kooyong Classic will be a not-to-be-missed event in Melbourne this summer.

News & special offers directly into your inbox

  • Latest Kooyong Classic news
  • Latest ticket offers
  • Exciting announcements from around the tournament